The World’s a Studio

14 03 2009

Next., originally uploaded by kamikaze productions.

Ok…so I’m exaggerating but then again I’m not. Whenever I’m asked by a friend to help them with some modeling shots, the first thing I say is you have to understand – 1) I don’t have any sort of studio lighting, and 2) I don’t have proper equipment (backdrops, etc). But I never turn down an opportunity to capture another subject, learn another skill, or just pick up the camera.

My friend Chelsea was in town and asked for a favor, so we tried to navigate my apartment in a way that would give somewhat usable lighting and background. Now here is where the whole anywhere is a studio idea comes in. We made a white wall be the equivalent of a backdrop and propped up lights to help eliminate shadows. Biggest downside – regular lights aren’t white!

But creativity is the important part of the experience. There was no way pictures were going to come out and be worthy of her final portfolio, but the practice and the experience yield returns as well.

One thing I learned – when you get in tight, you can mimic a studio quality image. Now this picture I have edited of course but the point is you can make an ordinary wall be a plain backdrop – I’ve contemplated taking the idea to another level and hanging paper to change a background color as well.

The ultimate lesson is that anything is possible with a camera and an idea. Studios traditionally have the fancy equipment, lighting, etc…but if you follow the mantra “Life’s a stage”…then it won’t be that hard for the photographer like you and me without the fancy stuff to adapt the phrase to say – “Life’s a studio”…just make sure you bring the camera with you when you leave the house.

Actions

Information

One response

15 03 2009
Vegeta06

Great post. I wished you gave away a few more of your “anywhere is a studio” ideas.

I guess it depends on what you’re looking to do and whether or not you can manufacture a bootleg version at home. Clearing the walls and arranging lights can get you some great effects, but not really polished looks like Rho’s photos. But then again, that style of photography isn’t the end-all-be-all of how a photo is supposed to look.

I often don’t realize how editing can help minimize the “homemade” feel

I don’t know how to get around some of the little things like bad carpeting. I was taking some full body photos of an attractive woman and i wanted a full body shot, but not with the hideous carpet pattern. I didn’t have a cloth big enough to cover it all, and I had no other clutter-free room to go to.

Okay this is turning into an ASR post. Thanks for the post

Leave a Reply

